Meditation | Dhyan in Yoga

Meditation (Dhyan)

Keeping the mind continuously in concentration is called meditation. 

Embark on a transformative journey of self-discovery through Dhyan (Meditation) in yoga. Dive into the profound practice that cultivates mental stillness, heightened awareness, and inner peace. Experience the harmonious integration of mind, body, and soul, fostering emotional well-being. Explore the enriching benefits of meditation in yoga, unlocking a path to tranquility and mindfulness. Elevate your spiritual journey through the ancient art of Dhyan.


Meditation is performed in any dhyan posture. If one is unable to sit down in Dhyan posture then will sit any comfortable position like a chair, etc. the sole condition is spine and neck should be straight.

Meditation is performed in many ways. An individual should adopt the suitable approach he has faith. According to Gita, the way of living and food habits should be regular. First, focus on the front of the nostril and feel the touch of breathing air. When this follows, feel the difference within the temperature of the air whereas inhaled or exhaled. After this, focus on between the eyebrows and feel one thing like palpitation or vibration, etc. When this follows, concentration is done anyplace.

According to Gherand samhita meditation is of 3 types.

  1. Sthool Meditation – Concentration on place or garden, etc.
  2. Jyotirmaya Meditation – Concentration on the centre between the eyebrows.
  3. Suksham Meditation – it’s for those who have reached the celestial point of meditation. According to devotion Sager, there are four forms of meditation.
    1. Padastha Mediation – concentration on the nails of the feet of one’s own immortal, placed in one’s own heart, and then sees his come on to the head.
    2. Pindastha Dhyan – follow Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharna to scrub the mind, then undergo the six chakras to the crown and concentrate there.

The point of union of ida, pingla, and Sushumna nerves are known as chakras.

1..Mooladhar Chakra (root chakra)

It’s placed within the middle of the anus and the genitals. This is often the place of earth components. Concentration on this chakra results in its activation and will increase physical vigour.

2. Swadhisthan Chakra (Sacral Chakra) –

This is often at the basis of the genitals. This is often the place of the water component.  Concentration on this chakra results in its activation and arrogance, greed, enviously and anger, etc, are destroyed.

3. Manipurak chakra (Solar plexus Chakra) –

It’s located within the line of the navel. This is often the place of the fire component. Concentration on this chakra results in its activation, by that qualities of courageousness and growth are imbibed.

4. Anahat Chakra (Heart Chakra) –

This is often placed within the line of the heart. This is often an area of the air component. Concentration on this chakra results in its activation and obtains materialistic achievements and completely eliminates the desire for non-desired objects to practice yoga.

5. Vishudha Chakra (Throat Chakra) –

This is often placed within the line of the throat. This is often the place of the sky component.  By Concentrating on this chakra one gets a great deal of peace, happiness, knowledge, and voice quality additionally improves.

6. Agya Chakra (Third eye chakra) –

This is often placed within the middle of the eyebrows. This has the fruits of all chakras. Gita additionally also suggests meditate more on this chakra. Its activation results in providence and heavenly information. So it’s additionally referred to as the receptor.

Through all chakras, meditation reaches the crown. This cuts the practitioner from the outer world and becomes one with the creator. As per want, one may do meditation on a specific chakra however the effective means for doing it should to start from the mooladhar chakra to crown one by one and from crown to mooladhar chakra.

3. Roopastha Dhyan –

Try to concentrate in between the eyebrows. Initial tiny fire particles are seen. When a moment, the flame of a lamp is seen and step by step a necklace of lamps is lighted up. Then a garland of stars, as if lightening is happening, is going to be seen. It seems as if too several moons and suns shining within the place and occasionally it appears that billions of atoms are glowing on each hand.

4. Rupateet Meditation –

In rupateet meditation the practitioner loses his separate identity. He concentrates on Brahma Randhra and gets some kind of force that is known as cosmic force. This is often the last stage of meditation and also the starting of Samadhi.

Apart from this Bhagwan Buddha found Vipashyana Meditation.

Vipashyana Meditation –

For any reason once there’s a mental complication at that point the speed of respiration becomes, unnatural, second within the organs of the body on a awfully minute level some Biochemistry activity takes place. If it’s practiced to observe these two then much the work of look the mind are done, and also the complication mechanically dilutes and loses its root. The follow of observation the breath is named “AANA PAN” and looks the Biochemistry activity of the body is named Vipashyana.

Start initially with “AANA PAN” watch the breath from the nostril and concentrate on that. The breath which goes in is cold and breath that comes out is hot, Feel the breath putting at the nostrils. Then the touch becomes very minute. Then concentrates thereon minute place and watches that minute activity.

After three to four days begin Vipashyana. Take the mind concentrating on the breath to the head area, move there slowly then come back to face, neck, hands, and feet. Having completed the observation from head to foot the method is recurrent in reverse order and during this means the cycle continues.

During this, there’ll be several sensations, pain, bit or trembling, etc. These feelings mustn’t be taken to be pleasant or unpleasant. They should be felt like an observer. The emotions return comes back the wavelets of a stream flow or the ebb and tides of the ocean.

Vipashyana could be a spiritual practice of elegant order to cleanse the mind of avarice, attachments, and envy.

Health Benefits of Meditation (Dhyan) in Naturopathy & Yoga:

Meditation controls the mind and its wavering gets over. The spiritual happiness practised throughout meditation breaks all mental blockages and also the person feels lightweight. Its regular follow removes nervous weakness and will increase memory power. Providence creativeness and problem-solving ability are developed.

A person active in meditation frequently has an attractive personality. Those that inherit his contact are impressed by his effective speech, brightness within the eyes, healthy body, and good behaviour.

Note: Stress is the main reason of almost all diseases. So, Meditation (i.e. Dhyan ) is important to recover from the ailments. Peace of mind accelerates the self healing process with in the body which is very important in Naturopathy & Ayurvedic Treatment System.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.